What it is for
Desk monitor with a built-in dock, and in some models a camera, for one person. Used in Remote and home · Assigned desk · Hot desk.
Installed by year
Ports
4 portsRear
Every port, in detail
| # | Port | Connector | Carries | Direction | Where |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | usb-c-3USB-C port, up to 10Gb/s, for peripherals/storage/networking; power delivery wattage not stated. Apple's photo shows two plain USB-C ports at the left of the four; it does not say which is which, so this one is ranked first and usb-c-4 second by choice. | USB-C | USB | Both ways | Rear |
| 2 | usb-c-4Second USB-C port, up to 10Gb/s (same spec text as usb-c-3, Apple does not distinguish the two individually). Second of the two plain USB-C ports from the left in Apple's back-view photo. | USB-C | USB | Both ways | Rear |
| 3 | usb-c-2Downstream Thunderbolt 5 port, for accessories or daisy-chaining additional displays; charging wattage to downstream devices not stated. | USB-C | USB, video | Both ways | Rear |
| 4 | usb-c-1Upstream/host Thunderbolt 5 port (up to 120Gb/s); delivers up to 96W host charging to the connected Mac. Rightmost port in Apple's back-view photo, the one marked with a dot, which Apple's spec text ties to the upstream port. | USB-C | USB, video, power | Both ways | Rear |
Spaces using it
35 spacesCHI 13.18 Flex desks CCPH 4.16 Flex desks BDUB 4.19 Flex desks CMEL 8.16 Flex desks BNYC 21.22 Flex desks CNYC 22.20 Assigned desks ERAM Hoboken home office 1RAM Jersey City home office 1RAM Naperville home office 2RAM Oak Park home office 2RAM Stamford home office 2RAM White Plains home office 2RAP Frankston home office 1RAP Geelong home office 1RAP Geelong home office 2RAP Johor Bahru home office 2+19 more
Space types that use it
82 units in 35 spaces at 9 officesNotes
- Apple lists compatibility with Mac and iPad only.
- The upstream Thunderbolt 5 port charges the laptop at up to 96 W.
- No network port: a wired connection needs an adapter or dock.
- Size is the display with the VESA mount adapter; the stand versions are taller and deeper.
What the manufacturer doesn't say
- No power draw published.
- Apple documents no power socket, only the mains voltage.
- Apple's back-view photo does not say which of the two plain USB-C ports is usb-c-3 and which is usb-c-4, since Apple gives them the same description; their ranks (1 and 2) are a choice, not a fact.
- Apple's photo shows the port order but no labels, so the downstream Thunderbolt 5 port (usb-c-2, third from the left) is placed because it is the only Thunderbolt 5 port that is not marked as upstream.
Sources
- Studio Display (2026) - Tech Specs
Specifications - Studio Display - Technical Specifications
Specifications, and the back-view photo showing the port positions and the upstream Thunderbolt marker
Each model was read twice, independently, and the two readings reconciled against the manufacturer's text.